July 18 2019

 New Orleans LA – The Board of Trustees of Xavier University of Louisiana elected Mr. Justin T. Augustine, III ’80 as Chair in its Summer 2019 meeting. Augustine, an alumnus of the university, has demonstrated a commitment to Xavier University throughout his years of service to the institution.

Mr. Gladstone N. Jones, III was re-elected to serve as Vice Chair. Board member Dr. Derek Robinson ‘98 was elected as a second Vice Chair and Sr. Amelia Bretón, S.B.S. was elected as the Board Secretary. Ms. Sonia Pérez was elected to the newly created position of Immediate Past Chair.

At the summer meeting, the Board also named three new members to its Board of Trustees: Ms. Alexandra Allen, Ms. Christina Francis ‘89, and Mr. James Mitchell. Additionally, the Board of Trustees appointed the president of Xavier’s National Alumni Association, currently Mr. Randall McHenry ‘86, to an ex-officio non-voting seat on the board.

“During my tenure as Chair, it has been an honor to be a servant leader. Xavier’s newly-elected Board Officers and Trustees will continue the progress we have made under President Verret’s leadership,” said Ms. Sonia Pérez, whose term as Chair of the Board of Trustees concluded June 30, 2019. “Each Trustee brings a wide range of experiences that will benefit Xavier.”

 “I am honored by the trust my fellow Trustees have placed in me. I am committed to continuing our stewardship of Xavier University,” Chair Augustine commented. Adding, “I understand the transformative power of a Xavier education. I am committed to giving the same quality education and opportunities to today’s students as I received. Together we will honor our mission for the next generation of Xavierites.”

Elected to a second term on the Xavier University Board of Trustees are Dr. Gilda Barabino ‘78, Sr. Theresa Chato, S.B.S. ’71, and Dr. John H. Jackson IV ‘94.

Returning trustees are: Dr. Jennifer Adams, Sister Donna Breslin S.B.S., Mr. Brandon Garrett, Dr. Richard Gilder III, the Honorable Judge Ivan Lemelle ‘71, Ms. Claudia Marmolejo, Mr. Meredith Marshall, Mr. Alden J. McDonald Jr., Ms. Paula Saizan ‘69, Mr. James Swanson, Mr. Joseph West, and Ms. Mary Zervigon. Xavier University of Louisiana President Dr. Reynold Verret serves as an ex-officio member of the Board.